twentieth of all land in each district or township, within the fertile belt, set out for settlement during that period. The fertile belt was defined to be bounded on the south by the United States boundary, on the west by the Rocky Mountains, on the north by the North Branch of the Saskatchewan, and on the east by Lake Winnipeg, the Lake of the Woods and the waters connecting them. By an Imperial Order in Council, dated the 23rd June, 1870, to take effect on the 15th July following, the North-West Territories were added to the Dominion. By an Act of the Canadian Parliament, 33 Vic., Chap. 3, passed on the 12th May, 1870, provision was made for the erection of the Province of Manitoba out of part of the new territory, and for its admission into the Confederation simultaneously with the acquisition of the North-West Territories, both of which events took place accordingly on the 15th July, 1870.

Admission of British Columbia.

3. By an Imperial Order in Council, dated the 16th May, 1871, passed upon Addresses from the Canadian Parliament and the British Columbia Legislature, that Province was admitted into the Confederation from the 20th July, 1871.

Admission of Prince Edward Island. 4. The Province of Prince Edward Island was also, by an Imperial Order in Council, dated the 26th June, 1873, and obtained in a similar manner, admitted a Province of the Dominion from the 1st July, 1873.

Districts in the North-West. 5. In 1876 the District of Keewatin, and in 1882 the Districts of Assiniboia, Alberta, Saskatchewan and Athabasca were set apart out of the North-West Territories.

Newfoundland. 6. Provision is made by the British North America Act for the admission of the Island of Newfoundland.

Boundaries. 7. The Dominion of Canada, therefore, now comprises the whole of the northern half of North America, with the exception of the United States Territory of Alaska on the west, and Labrador, which is under the control of the Government of Newfoundland, on the east. It is bounded on